top of page

Arthur Hill Defeats Saginaw High in Final Matchup, Reaches Regional Final

Corunna, Mich. - A 114-year rivalry completed its final chapter as Arthur Hill defeated Saginaw High 57-42. The two schools will unite into one next season, marking tonight the final game in Trojan program history.

The Lumberjacks advanced to the regional final round for the first time since 2014-15 behind the stellar play of senior guard Lyna Brooks Jr. He finished with a game-high 27 points. 

Arthur Hill wins final High-Hill game, reaches Regional Final will play Powers Catholic

In the first quarter, Brooks Jr. kept Arthur Hill within striking distance. He sunk two threes for six of the Lumberjacks' eight points, keeping the deficit at only five.

The Trojans tallied the first seven points of the second quarter, but Saginaw's foul trouble abetted an Arthur Hill comeback. 16 of the next 20 points were for the Lumberjacks, including a 7-0 run in the final 90 seconds of the first half to tie the game. Sophomore Di'onquavis "Boop" Hardy had seven, and Brooks entered halftime with 11. 

Saginaw's Willie Humphrey and Deon Anderson both had two fouls. The duo accounted for nine of the 24 first-half Trojan points. 

In the second half, Arthur Hill's effectiveness in inducing turnovers and converting in transition pulled them away. Hardy added nine, and junior guard Trey Buford totaled six.

Saginaw High splashed just one three-pointer in the final two quarters, and Arthur Hill added an impressive 11-15 mark at the free throw line in the last 16 minutes.

Tonight's full game archive is available here.

Rounding Things Out

Arthur Hill - Sr. Lyna Brooks Jr. 27 points | So. Di'onquavis "Boop" Hardy 16 points | Jr. Tyler Dorsey 6 points

Saginaw - Jr. Torrion Stevenson Jr. 10 points | Sr. Brandonn McCune 7 points | Sr. Fransco "Diggy" Lee Jr. 7 points

Up Next

Arthur Hill returns to Corunna High School on Thursday for a clash with Powers Catholic in the regional final. The Chargers bested the Lumberjacks 72-67 in Flint on January 5th, 2024. Tipoff is at 7. The Mitt's coverage begins at 6:50 p.m.


bottom of page